A person’ worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, many people tend to use social status and material properties to define a value of a person, while other kinds of values in terms of pride, kindness and trust seem to be less important. I totally disagree with this idea for a few reasons.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why honour, kindness and trust are still playing an important role in our society. Firstly, humans distinguish with animals and robots because we have hearts, have our own thoughts and see things differently. If those values disappear, we are no longer different from other species. Secondly, I think that we cannot judge other people value by the way they look or the way they wanted to show us, there are so many wealthy people but they are just staying humble and acting like a normal people.

In addition, we are living in an unbiased world, there is no point to say that a value of a person is less important than other aspects. I believe that people are really good at hiding their bad sides and show to others only their good sides. When we look at someone, we cannot decide their values until we show their actions. In my opinion, people who are living under poverty seem to be more sympathize with others than the richer ones because they have learnt to share things such as food or clothing. As a result, they can easily immerse themselves to other people situations.

In conclusion, in this materialistic, while I think that social status and material possessions of a person are important to describe a person’s worth and their position in the society, I do not think that their value can be compared with those things.