Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment.

What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

The level of contaminated water is increasing at an alarming rate, which is the most considerable worry for environmentalism. There are a number of reasons behind this issue and several solutions should be adopted to improve this situation.

The reason for water pollution is due to imperfect water treatment from the industry field. Many manufactories intentionally disobey the progress of treating water. They pour discharges directly into streams or lakes nearby, regardless of the existence of aquatic species. The discharges from these factories create the developing condition for diseases such as diarrhea, cholera, dysentery, typhoid, and polio which threaten people’s life. In addition, these incidents like oil spilled and oil overexploit on sea bring marine animals to the brick of endangering and disappearing.

Another cause of contaminated water is that human activities in daily life. In many floating houses alongside Mekong Delta in Vietnam, most residents choose to dump waste, animal corpses directly into the rivers. As a result, this does not only contaminate the water, but also facilitates fungus, infectious diseases to occur, and even dangerous viruses in the long term. Besides, in agriculture, overusing fertilizers and pesticides which absorb into layers of land poisoned underwater and terrestrial animals. Fishing for commercial purpose cause the decreasing sources of marine materials as well as destroy nearby aquatic animals' habitats.

To solve this problem, there are various feasible methods that can be carried out. Authorities should pass strict laws and punishment to enterprises who commit faults on treatment water. Projects and campaigns about protecting the environment should be announced to raise the awareness of residents. Simultaneously, citizens should have cooperative attitudes towards the politics of government.

In conclusion, there are various factors leading to contaminated water and steps need to be taken to address this phenomenon.