Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment.

What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Water pollution has become a growing source of concern for the environmentalists who intend to protect the nature. Not only are there several factors causing this pollution, but their effects on living beings are profound, both of which will be discussed the following essay.

To begin with, a number of factors are responsible for the pollution of water bodies (namely, rivers lakes and seas). First and foremost, the wastes generated from the industries such as oil and chemicals, are dumped in the seas without prior treatment. Secondly, humans discarding things randomly either directly or indirectly enters the rivers or lakes thereby contributing further to the pollutions. For instance, every year Hindus have a festival by the end of which they have to bid farewell to their deities by drowning then in water and it has been reported that it generates tonnes of waste. Moreover, pollutants are also generated from the wastes in the beaches.

However, people forget that these pollutants with in turn harm them as well as other living beings in numerous ways. As there are harmful chemicals, oil and plastics in the water bodies, the cost of water treatment will gradually rise, followed by raised prices of drinking water for people. Whereas, the animals drinking the surface water consume these chemicals and eventually decease, due to their system being unable to breakdown the unwanted products. Furthermore, sea animals consume the plastics dumped into the water which also causes them to become sick and perish. In fact, people may contract diseases ranging from diarrhea due to drinking lake water to cancer due to usage of excessive chemicals in water treatment.

To sum up, industries and humans are the root causes of water pollution which is affecting all living beings on land as well as underwater.