Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and with relevant evidence.

Big sporting events such as the FIFA World Cup and the Olympics have been attributed to relieve international tensions amongst countries, in addition, they also serve as a proper venue to exhibit patriotism. I somewhat agree with this statement, although it has been known to gather people together in support of their home countries, there are instances when fights brake out in stadiums and other venues.

On one hand, occasions such as the World Cup draw massive numbers of supporters cheering for their home countries. Thus, exhibiting a strong sense of pride and nationalism. Furthermore, events like the Olympics alleviate international and domestic rifts between nations. Case in point, the two Koreas which are still technically at war, yet in time of the Olympics, differences are set aside and both countries would march under one flag, as seen on the most recent Olympics in Brazil. Sporting events such as these do play a vital role in keeping a balance to a volatile world.

On the other hand, unfortunate events are bound to happen when rabid fans loose their cool and tempers rose. Riots are common to football matches, especially when rival teams are playing. Fans would sometimes go overboard when they think that calls are not being made, as they can verbally attack the referees or opposing supporters worst physical altercations can break loose. Moreover, the Munich Olympics in 1972, when Jewish athletes were murdered by Syrian terrorists. The incident paved the way for Israel to retaliate, although in complete discretion, as they hunted all proprietors in the massacre.

In conclusion, Sporting events such as the Olympics and the World Cup do have their fair share of advantages and disadvantages that I somewhat adhere to.