At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the distribution of population by age has rapidly changed with the young comparatively outnumbers the elderly. Although this trend may cause harm to society in some aspects, its benefits in the long run should not be undervalued.

There are number of reasons why large number of the young acts as an incentive for the economy to develop. First, since the young is more active in innovation, the young employees seem to easier keep up with technology than the older labourers. For example, some occupation that is related to machine and assembly lines appears as challenges for the older people as it is hard for them to take advantage of technology. Second, older people often lose the flexibility in working which the young already has. For instance, some sort of work required working under pressure or even overtime such as nurses, flight attendants often seeks for the young workers.

Moreover, larger number of young adults can reduce the burden for whole society. In term of taxation, more young people will result in more employed workers and more taxes for government. These taxes may later make up for the public subsidy. Finally, young people can be the care-takers for the older one in the whole society. In reality, if a country is populated with higher number of old-aged citizens, there seems to be the situation in which the older has to confront with homelessness and hunger.

In conclusion, the outstanding number of young generations would efficiently force the economic development of countries. Besides, some social burdens including taxation and healthcare services can be minimized thanks to the contribution of young labourers.