"Prevention is better than cure."Out of country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventive measures.

Health is wealth and no amount of money can get back a life once lost. With the development of Technology and Globalization, life has become easier and physical activity is at the least. The food we consume and the air we breathe is contaminated, leading to a variety of health problems. The government has allocated a part of its health budget on the prevention of diseases whereas some portion goes for research purposes to find cures. It is true that prevention is always better than cure but I do not agree with diverting the funds from treatment to prevention.

Cigarette smoking is injurious to health and leads to cancer. This information is available to the public from children to adults. The government ensures that preventive measures be taken in the form of printing damaged body images on the covers to screening the causes and effects to the smokers and their families. However, people still continue to smoke irrespective of the consequences. Hence, prevention is not always effective and a cure needs to be found at the earliest.

Moreover, there are chances of non smokers being victims of lung cancer. In this scenario, only a cure would help the person. I know of a friend, who never touched a single cigarette in his entire life. However, he was diagnosed with lung cancer. The reason being smokers in his neighborhood and colleagues which led to unintentional passive smoking. Within the same span of time, cures for Tuberculosis, Asthma and polio have been found thus saving huge number of lives.

A country's public are the strength of that country and if the people are suffering from deadly disease there is not a slightest hope of growth. Scientists and researchers put untiring efforts to ensure that cures can be found to diseases and this can only be accomplished with the help of government funds. Funds should be allocated for advanced technology and research centers to find cures for diseases like cancer, aids,

In conclusion, I would like to say that even though prevention can save time, effort, money and health of the people, finding cures for diseases should be a priority as there as diseases which can be inherited from parents or unpreventable.