Recent research shows that the consumption of junk food is a major factor in poor diet and this is detrimental to health. Some people believe that better health education is the answer to this problem but others disagree. What is your opinion.

It is undoubtedly true that one of the biggest challenges we face today is how to improve eating habits which can immediately affect our health and fast food is considered as a main cause of ill health. While some people argue that high level of health education would lead to healthy and strong lives, I believe that it is not sufficient to solve the health issue completely.

There are a number of reasons why education about health seems to be an appropriate measure. There is a clear link between what people know about nutrition and what they are eating. In fact, people are easily exposed to a diversity of flashy advertisements of fast food restaurants, whereas accurate food ingredients and health information are hard to know. If children learned in schools about the need to have a lot of vitamins and minerals, they would be more likely to eat healthy meals. By contrast, people, who did not have any health education, tend to choose more junk food and as a result suffer from various diseases.

Better health education, however, is not a perfect solution as it ignores the wider social factors that cause people eat unhealthy food. First of all, many people take fast food, which is not because they are unaware of drawbacks of this food, but because they lead a hectic life. In other words, they normally do not have enough time to cook and sit down to a proper meal. Another reason of the popularity of junk food can be found on its accessibility and availability. This means that it is relatively inexpensive and can be found on every corner of the street. In my point of view, these social aspects might not be resolved with health education alone.

In conclusion, although improving the level of health education is a necessary action to deal with ill health, I would argue that we need a couple of other measures taking into account several social factors.