RELATIONSHIP OVERLOAD IN A VIRTUAL WORLD

In our modern society where interacting and sharing online is simple, it is probably more likely to talk to friends and family through electronic devices than face - to – face. It is believed that young people spend more time socializing online via Facebook than they do in person. Hence, social media, especially Facebook has both positive and negative effects on our relationships.

Facebook as a social network was the fourth most visited website in 2010, attracting over 800 million users to date. Having internet connection, sitting down and chatting with friends via Facebook becomes so easy. Facebook can play a meaningful role in beginning relationships. Making friends, especially foreigners through Facebook is too easy; just type and click, the number of your friends will increase significantly. Additionally, it is obviously seen that the cost of using facebook is very cheap. Imagine that you have some friends studying in foreign countries, if making a phone call or even just sending a message, it can cost you 10 times more than just chatting via Facebook. Therefore, Facebook is the easiest and most convenient way to keep in touch with you friends who are oversea students. Besides, if you are oversea student or just have to live far from home, you can still contact with your family without being aware of the cost. Furthermore, Facebook can help you maintain your long distance relationship if you have no chance to meet each other. Through it, your friendship and love relationship have the tendency to be long lasting.

On the other hand, despite having an average of more than 300 Facebook friends, teenagers are still feeling as lonely as the elderly. It is reported that about 30% of your Facebook friends you have not met yet. How difficult to make a long run in relationships. Moreover, young people tend to depend too much on online communication and the face-to-face meeting seems to disappear. Teenagers can be addicted to online chatting, which can result in fault romantic relationships. In addition, spending too much time on Facebook may lead to a lack of communicating with a family.

Even though Facebook bring to us many benefits in the way we maintain our relationship but its own disadvantages have to be concerned. To avoid drawbacks of using Facebook in our relationship, we should not spend too much time on communicating via Facebook. Booking a list of dates in available time to meet your friends and family is also the positive way.

Social networking sites are good but depending too much on them is not good. We should consider its advantages and disadvantages to balance how to use it to not have the influence on our relationship in the real world.