responsibilities

It is undeniable that the generation today has everything more easy-going for them than the older one. This also means there are some changes in the children’s roles in terms of responsibility. I personally believe the number of responsibilities they have to handle today has lessened.

The many generations before the one today, saw wars, famine, freedom struggles and liberalization. That was a generation that lived through adversity and pulled itself out of it. Naturally, the realization of responsibilities was very prominent among them. Also, there were many children to a couple in the past, unlike today, and the older siblings were given responsibility for the care of the younger ones.

With the development of societies and countries, the above-mentioned responsibilities have now ceased to exist. With increasing importance being placed on education, children now are basically responsible for performing well in academics and sports, technically making them skilled enough for a better career in future. As family sizes have reduced too, with facilities of day-care being easily available, children are not as accountable to oversee their younger siblings. All this is majorly true in the cases of developed and some developing countries.

In regards to the impact of such a development, I personally believe it is for the better. Children of the previous generations were not quite able to fully live and enjoy their childhood as children are now able to do – even if it means doing nothing and lazing around. Children 30 years ago became matured earlier than their time and were willing to contribute towards work and household as much as they could, whereas children nowadays are pretty relaxed in these concerns. I think this is a much better situation for children to grow up in.

Therefore, due to development in the lifestyle and conditions of the society, some countries are not placing many responsibilities on their children. There is much time to learn about the essential responsibilities as they grow up, so I feel they should not be overwhelmed with such things in their childhood.