As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Researchers have shown that average life of the human being has been increased dramatically from last few years. This increase in life expectancy is obviously due to modern equipments used in the medical care. Of course, everyone wants to live longer to enjoy life and so, this advancement is considered as positive by most of the people on the earth. However, this drift has caused some adverse effects on the individuals as well as society.

Throughout the history, it has been seen that immortality has been considered as the blessing from the God. Everyone wants to live more to spend some more years with their loved ones. Due to this greed of longer life, most of the people on the earth consider advancement in the medical science positive. Apart from this, at the social level, people feel that more aged people would benefit the organization or the government because of their knowledge and experience. For example, senior employees would guide the juniors under them to work better.

Nevertheless, increase in the aged population has adversely impacted the society as well as the individual. Firstly, owing to large aged population, the government has to do more expenditure on medical care and pension of the senior citizen. This will increase the burden on the regime. Secondly, youth have to work more and pay extra tax for this extra expense. Lastly, an increase in the population also causes the detrimental effects on the environment as well.

To sum up, it individually, everyone would consider modern technology as a blessing for the human race as it gives more years to live. But at the same time, it has negative impacts on individual, society and environment as a whole.