Sample topic: Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While the majority of leaders fixate on the notion that economic growth plays a pivotal role in the country, plenty of citizens opine that other types of development should be just as prioritized. Although both perspectives are justified to some extent, I gravitate towards the latter.

On the one hand, economic furtherance is undeniably the backbone of one nation, the tower of strength and also the beacon of its status on the world stage. Alongside this progress comes that the quality of accommodations and available amenities is to be upgraded. These traits, therefore, ensure a better life for civilians. Moreover, it is also an indicator of how redoubtable a country is. The USA might be the best case in point; such an indomitable pillar buttressing the global economy can make the whole world pay heed to whatever it announces and refrain any adversary countries from challenging its sovereignty. For these reasons, the advance in the economy is essential for any nation.

On the other hand, both governments and competent authorities need to take other kinds of progress into consideration. Sustainability development may be the most exemplary. The degradation of nature and the ubiquity of environmental pollutions boil down to the snowballing economy and clusters of industrial sweatshops. It is time they regulated strict ordinances to prohibit effluent and exhaust fumes disposed in the wilderness. The rocketing development speed of a country’s industrialization is not on par with that of nature deterioration anymore, which indicates that the health of ordinary people and natural habitats is in jeopardy. Aside from this, gender equality is another heated issue. Some economic leviathan like China still encounters difficulties with a remarkable asymmetry in male and female population as the rate of single men gallops throughout the years. Simultaneously, pay disparity prevailing in the workplace has made women unable to ask for a rise. This, later, can lead to protests since the women empowerment movement will incentivize females to fight for their rights. Before unrest breaks out, the government should take action to redress that imbalance.

In conclusion, though the economy is of paramount importance, it is still not omnipotent enough to troubleshoot problems associated; therefore, governments should divide their attention equally.