Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves?

It is undeniably that they are wealthy and poorer nations around the globe. Wealthy nations are perhaps the developed countries which include the United Kingdom and European countries whereas the poorer nations are the developing ad undeveloped nations such as Africa and India. Many people argue that wealthy nations should share their wealth among poorer nations by providing food and education, for example. Nevertheless, other people argue it is the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves. I agree that wealthy nations should help poorer nations with the provision of basic needs.

First of all, in my opinion, I feel that wealthy nations should share wealth with poorer nations for the sake of peacefulness. In the history, we learn that some countries were involving in wars as the citizens were not fulfilled with basic requirements. When people are not provided in food, they will rob others. One point worth mentioning is that education is very important to a country as literacy will lead people to think rationally. I have to admit that people tend to commit crime for living if they are not fulfilled with basic needs, if they run to other countries for basic needs, there will be severe impact on those countries whereby a portion of their food production have to be distributed to them. For example, North Korea is always in wars as people are hungry and education is not provided.

Some people assume that the government of poorer nations should be wholly responsible for their citizens and wealthy nations should not share their wealth with poorer nations. Their belief is that wealthy nations were once poorer nations before they became wealthy. They argue if these countries were hardworking in food production, they will not face suc problem. They do not think of the repercussion of not lending hands to poorer nations might lead to war. As the world is becoming globalised nowadays, therefore, the wealthy nations should share some wealth with poorer nations. Who knows one day these poorer nations might help wealthy nations in the future.

In conclusion, I have to confess that the sharing of wealth by wealthy nations with poorer nations will only bring benefits to the world. Thus, I think the wealthy nations can help poorer nations by investing in these nations financially. It is understandably that when poorer nations are able to a job from multinational companies, their basic needs which include food and education are fulfilled. In consequently, they will not commit crime or have war. This strategy is considered a one stone killed two birds strategy as the wealthy nations will get profits from the investment and poorer nations will have their countries’ economy developed.