Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves?

Planet Earth is filled with natural resources distributed all over the place. However, this distribution is not spread evenly among the countries. While the gulf is highly rich in oil, Africa is severely short of natural resources. It is true that the government is responsible for the well being of the people however, it is also a human obligation that wealthy nations share their wealth with the poorer countries.

It is an obvious fact, that every country is the responsibility of its government. Citizens pay taxes to the government for the betterment of the country and this amount should be wisely spent on providing food, schools and hospitals for the people. For instance, in India, there are a number of government schools, where food and education is free, also hospitals are built for the people. This encourages the people to pay their taxes on time and also helps in the development of the nation.

However, there are a number of countries which are extremely poor and the government does not have sufficient funds to provide for the people. These countries consists of people who are not educated and suffering from diseases such as AIDS, Cholera etc. The rich countries, who have excess natural resources, should help these countries by providing education and food. When people are educated, they are aware of the causes of various diseases and learn to take precautions. Providing scholarships and education will also help the people get employment which in turn will increase the revenue of the country.

Moreover, Natural calamities such as floods and earthquakes, lead to destruction of the country's economy and stability. For example, the Philippines is struck by floods time and again, destroying houses and buildings, rendering people homeless. In such cases, aid is highly important to help the people get back on their feet. The countries providing aid also gain from helping the underdeveloped countries by receiving cheap labor and some highly qualified people in their country. To illustrate, we can see a number of highly qualified Indians rendering their services in the US and other parts of the world.

To conclude, I would like to point out that while the government should prioritize the welfare of its nation, it is equally important for rich countries to share their resources with the poorer nations, in order to maintain balance, peace and harmony. It is recommended, that rich countries provide aid in the form of job opportunities and scholarships as well as fair trade rules. Also to ward off the debts of the poor countries rather than monetary help, which might be misused by some corrupt people.