Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth and resources among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizen themselves?

The gap between poor and rich nations has been evident throughout the history of our world. It has been a mission of the wealthier nations to aid their struggling counterparts especially with food and education. Personally, I somewhat favor the help that developing countries get but their respective governments should play an integral and major parts in alleviating its citizens condition.

To begin with, countries like the United States and Japan play the big brother role for the past half century. In the Philippines, for example, these two countries have supported the Philippine government financially to solve the two main problems encountered by a common Filipino, food and education. Financial grants had been given countless times to construct more school buildings and provide a more decent educational materials for school children. Similarly, investments were made in order for the Philippines to be self- sufficient in terms of food. Huge amounts of money are donated for the research and development of the country's staple food, rice. However, it is my personal opinion that the government of the Philippines should make a conscious effort to not to rely too much from foreign aids. The Philippines and other developing countries should have contingency plans in case those Foreign aids stop coming. These countries can start by lessening or stopping corruption in the government, thus, the money goes to where it should. If the funds are properly allocated and accounted more poor nations can be self- sufficient, in terms of food and education.

In conclusion, it is the moral obligation of wealthy countries to share their blessings. However, steps are needed for developing countries in order to have long term sufficiency, for the food and education of its own citizens.