Smacking is the best form of disciple.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this

Corporal punishment is believed to be an effective style of instilling disciple. There are reasons as to why this pattern of correction is practiced, nonetheless this essay disagrees with the above statement and will highlight the reasons below.

Some people agree that the best model of the disciple in a parents' tool chest is smacking. They believe that this works because this steers the youngster away from negative attitude. They also say it is a natural method of correction, perhaps because they were spanked as a youth themselves, thus believing that sparing the rod spoils the child hence result to physical punishment as a reprimand for socially unacceptable action.

Contrarily, corporal sanction has three major drawbacks. Firstly, there is a high tendency of inflicting physical injuries to the adolescent which will only hurt and not correct. Another reason is, this could rely a negative message to the ward that spanking other people is an acceptable way to deal with strong emotions thus encouraging aggressive behaviours. In addition, smacking as a penalty for inappropriate conduct may lead to an even longer-term problem with children's health as they are more likely to have challenging adulthood like post-traumatic stress disorder, anxiety or even depression. So, considering these reasons, this is in no way the most acceptable style of discipline.

To conclude, despite retro practices of physical discipline, this essay disagrees that smacking is the best mode of correction as it can lead to an undesirable performance in juvenile leading to an aggressive adult life.