Some believe that it is good for a country’s culture to import films and TV programmes, while others think it is better for a country to have their own films and TV programmes.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

many people think that movies and tv shows should be imported from other countries to have a better local culture, while other people argue the contrary. I will discuss these two points of vies, and I will finally give my personal opinion.

Firstly, importing movies and tv shows could give rise to the possibility of widening the horizon of the local artists, so that newer and the unseen cultural products could feel the influences of the imported ones. For instance, many famous American horror films bore in the 80s due to the impact of Italian films directed in the 60s by Bava. Furthermore, if a country chose tv program and tv shows coming from foreign nations, it would give its population a comprehensive view of different lifestyles. In this manner, local people could enrich their global culture, simply watching tv from their sofa. An example of this could be a popular japan tv show streamed in Italy two years ago, which gave the possibility to learn traditional japan habits.

On the contrary, it is widely believed that a nation has to produce its films and tv shows to preserve its own culture. A local product will satisfy easily native people, given that the culture expressed in them will be similar to the spectator's one, making its view more comfortable due to the fact it will recognize local habits and rituals. More, regional movies would be an expression of local culture and would contribute to ist spread around the world as well.

For the reasons here expressed, I would say that I partially agree with the opinion that importing films is vital for a nation's culture, even though a culture should produce representative material in order to preserve itself from the disappearance.