Some cities have introduced traffic congestion tax to tackle the issue, do you thin it is a positive or negative development. Give examples.

Growing number of cars on the road and congestion is causing problems for the authorities. Some countries have proposed congestion tax to tackle this issue. I think that this can be a positive development. Analysing the factors such as significant reduction in a number of cars, air and noise pollution and clean environment will prove this.

Firstly, we see a reduction in a number of cars entering the city after the tax. People look for alternate routes and times to avoid the traffic. For example, entering London during rush hours costs 10£. This forces people to look for alternate time and routes to enter the city. Similarly, people prefer using buses in Dublin during rush hours over their cars just to avoid the congestion. Hence reducing the traffic load on city road. The actual reduction in cars is thus positive factor for the cities itself.

Secondly, less number of cars reduce the overall air and noise pollution. A recent survey in UK and China shows that implementation of tax has significantly reduced the pollution levels. This allows the people to live in a pure environment and thus bringing a positive change.

On the contrary, many people may argue that governments should spend money on public transport systems rather than tax but such systems take time and money to develop and might not be the right thing to do at present time.

In conclusion, the actual reduction in the number of cars and less air and noise pollution are the advantages brought in by congestion tax. I agree that it is a positive development but the need of the hour is to develop better public transport systems by the government.