Some countries achieve international sports by building specialized facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

It is true that some country focuses their facilities on training athletes for the global achievements rather than developing citizens. I think the negative of this trend outweigh the positive.

On the one hand, it is understandable why the government should give a priority of infrastructure to the best athletes to obtain good results for the country. The first reason is that the funding spent on sports was limited, which requires the government need to allocate resources in an adequate way for some certain objects. For example, the authority is likely able to invest in an only high standard swimming pool which helps athletes perfect their skills because this construction often cost a lot of money to design and build. Besides the shortage of money, the lack of natural resources could be also considered another reason. In fact, the construction of special areas for athletes would result in the destruction of a vast number of forests to make room for the buildings. In order to preserve the wildlife habitats, there were little natural resources exploited for building facilities. As a result, these facilities can only be used to training athletes.

However, I think this trend is negative for some reasons. Firstly, investing more facilities for dwellers is a good way to reduce the burden on health care. It is true that when citizens are encouraged to take exercises, they can tackle the risk of obesity which significantly contributes to different diseases such as cancer, stroke, and heart attack. This means that the governments would save a lot of money to take care of the public and could use this amount of tax on other sectors of the nation. Besides, it is apparent that the tax is contributed by the community; therefore this funding should be spent to improve people’s life. If all the national resources are strongly emphasis on athletes while numerous of the health problem of citizens are ignored, this would lead to the strong opposition from the public, affecting the security of the nation.

In conclusion, I believe that this tendency is negative and the government should let dwellers use special facilities together with athletes.