In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are

decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

In recent years, the health and fitness status have been declining significantly and people are becoming fatter compared to the past 20 years. I think this is mainly because of/due to their sedentary lifestyles and the popularity of fast food. There are a variety of possible solutions which should be implemented to deal with these causes.

There are many causes why people are becoming heavier and the standards of health and fitness are dropping these days. The main cause is that many citizens choose to drive their private cars or take public transport to work or school. By doing so, there has been a serious decline in most people’s levels of physical activity, resulting in them burning fewer calories and gain weight. Another reason for it is that people consume the large amount of processed foods such as hamburger, pizza and sandwich that contain large amounts of sugar, salt and artificial ingredients. This means that eating many convenience foods may have adverse effects on blood fat levels and increase one’s weight.

There are several solutions that we could take to solve the causes described above. A possible solution to improve our health and fitness is to increase their daily physical activities such as walking to work if they live close to their workplaces, joining the gym in the morning and so forth. In addition, what governments can do is to raise people’s awareness of obesity and several dangers of a poor diet. For instance, posters could be designed that illustrate how back pain is the result of obesity and mounting in public areas and vehicles.

In conclusion, the fall in health and fitness and increase in the weight of many people in various countries are a consequence of the lack of physical activity and the high consumption of convenience foods. However, these problems can be addressed if people increase their daily physical activity and are informed of the dangers of eating too much.