Some countries build specialized facilities for top athletes to train instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that many nations have diverted substantial funding towards specialized facilities utilized to train sports talents and are indifferent to ordinary people's need with basic sports facilities. While the benefits of this trend are evident, drawbacks also need to be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, there are two main advantages with regard to this tendency. Firstly, giving top priority to these special facilites for athletes like arenas and sports gears could draw the attention of people. especially those have strong passion for sport and those sports talents. It means that these prodigies would feel that their homeland is investing in them heavily and therefore, they would do their utmost to make an outstanading contributions to national sport. Other benefit could be for the host nations themselves due to the fact that sportspeople could develop their skills to the full thanks to excellent working environment with state-of-the-art facilities. As a result, they could qualify for engaging in global sports events like Plympic games, bringing prestigious awards and raising their country's profile.

On the other hand, there are also numerous disadvantages if the governments and private sectors invest heavily in these facilities peculiar to athletes. One possible downside is that it could promote inequality among normal people who also need modern and user-friendly facilities to practise on a daily basis. It could even spark resentment and hostility if these basic necessities could not be satified. Another shortcoming could be that this trend would weaken and deteriorate resident's overall well-being and health seeing that they have fewer opportunities to take up their favorite sports and therefore lead a sendentary life, which is the precursor to many potentially chronic diseases such as obesity and diabedes.

In conclusion, focusing excessively on specialized facilities could bring both benefits and drawbacks for government s and each individual.