In some countries governments pay the money for students’ university fees,while in other countries, students pay for themselves. Do advantages of governments paying for the students outweigh its disadvantages?

It is true that many local universities have free tuition for students, especially international students. While I accept that there are some drawbacks, I think that these are outweighed by the benefits of this trend.

On the one hand, there is certainly that tuition should be paid by learners themselves. Firstly, in terms of lazy people, they not only wouldn’t have the driving force to learn but also did not know how to manage their finances. Instead of expenditure on courses, some sorts of temptations as drugs could cost them a great deal, as they did not spend money on studying means too much money spend on else matters. Secondly, the government budget has been allocated for numerous areas like health care of transportations. So, if the substantial amount of education fees is placed on the Government, it would definitely lead the serious financial deficiency in other public services, thereby impair general quality of people’s lives.

On the other hand, I believe that there are great advantages can be gained. One reason is that overseas students who come from poor and developing countries could gain countless opportunities to broaden their horizons from advanced educational systems. Take Germany as an example, this country offers many free courses at some famous universities for both native and foreign students. Thus, this policy created many golden chances for talented students who were not financial enough to study a normal course. In addition, thanks to the transmission of knowledge from developed nations, young people could easily pursue higher education. Therefore, they would apply this sort of knowledge in earning money and have the higher standard of living.

In conclusion, the advantage students did not pay their fees at the university has more than compensated for the drawbacks.