In some countries, private cars are banned fro certain city centers. What are the advantages of such a system and do you feel that this is something that most cities should adopt?

Driving is a real status symbol among many people. Cars and private vehicles have made human life easier and convenient to a great extent. But in this metropolitan age, while experiencing comfort travelling, we also face the problem of traffic congestion. A lot of countries are taking efficient steps to improve pollution levels by imposing many restrictions on vehicles. In my perspective, the prohibition of private cars alone is not a long term solution as it requires varied methods like upgrading public transport facilities and the infrastructure of these metropolia.

Undoubtedly, personal cars are comparatively suitable than public transportation, and the majority of the locals are accepting this challenge of compulsory use of public transit. Many European cities, such as London, have started implementing outright bans so driving around Central London will charge a heavy congestion fee. Therefore, half of the roads in London has been declared as ‘pedestrian priority’ zone. Besides London, Paris has also applied the no personal vehicle rule in which they have banned cars made before 1997 and also initiate people to use go car-free on weekends by using bicycles for travelling. These efforts have greatly reduced vehicle emission in several parts of the world.

However, there is other side of the coin. Completely restricting the four-wheelers from the city centers would negatively affect the overall economy of the country. A few drawbacks of this scheme are that it would restrict the freedom of the people by controlling their fundamental right. It would also affect the disabled category as they will have to face the inconvenience of taking public transport that does not have any special facilities for them. Banning private vehicles in city centers can prove to be heavy on people’s pocket too.

From my personal standpoint, banning private cars completely is not a wise idea to control environmental issues. Therefore, the government can encourage to use efficient means of public transportation. They should also spread the awareness to persuade the individuals to car-pool by restricting odd and even license plates on alternating days. Cities like Madrid and Oslo are successful in eliminating vehicle emission and taking diesel cars off their roads.