In some countries young people are encounter to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is obvious that graduating from a high school and starting a university is considered as a important stage by many people. However, some say that it can be rewarding experience traveling or working before starting a university for a year. In this essay, I will discuss about upsides and downsides of making such a decision.

There is no doubt that having such a break may bring some useful outcomes in terms of adolescent. Firstly, It can be beneficial in terms of health to stay away from courses and lectures for a while.This is because, It is considered by most people that doing monotonous tasks may damage our brain and lead to some disease such as cognitive disorder or depression in youth. In addition, It is a good opportunity for adolescents to acquiring working or traveling experience. It is certain that they can earn money to provide their university expenses if they decide to work or, they can widen their horizon if they choose to travel. Both of these option can be useful for them.

However, It can be some drawbacks of this decision. Firstly, one year for a break is too long. the reason is that they may not give sufficient attention for their courses when they start to university.In addition, If they decide to travel, they may encounter financial problems. They may also face some negativeness if they decide to work. This is because, many job vacancies require experienced stuff and employers are mostly looking for long-term workers.These are some disadvantages of this decision as well.

In conclusion, although having a break generally brings some advantages such as avoiding some diseases or getting experience or money, it may have some drawbacks such as lack of money or excessive time of break.