In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is argued that if students should spend time for working or travelling for a year before graduating high school and enter universities. In my point of view, this idea has some benefits and drawbacks as well.

In the one hand, no one can deny that Gap year certainly bring some advantages for students who make decision to work or go travel for a while. For people who prefer going travel is really a great chance for students to refresh their mind after stressful school time and hang out with new friends around the world. In addition, searching a job in their spare time is also popular option for students who want to earn money to improve the standard of life and get more realistic experience in working environment as well.

In the other hand, there are also some negative impacts on the students who choose gap year idea. Obviously, their studies at high school would be interrupted which has meaning that they may graduate late instead of moving on university level as the same time as their classmates do. Moreover, for students, studying purpose should be the priority rather than to waste money or time for short term plans. In some cases, gap year would be bad effect if the students consider that they are able to make money and it’s not necessary to be back the schools to complete high school level. However, it could rarely happen when high level qualification is a crucial requirement for seeking a good job in the competitive market nowadays.

I agree that spending time for working or travelling is a good idea for high school students, however there are some negatives need to be considered before making decision.