In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In many nations, the young are advised to get a job or make a journey in the year after leaving high school. It is, therefore, essential to investigate both the advantages and disadvantages of this issue equally.

On the one hand, using a gap year for work or traveling offers several benefits. Firstly, working as well as going on a trip may help young people to obtain a lot of real experience and skills for their life. They will be more mature and independent in their decisions. In addition, working or going for a tour after graduating will ensure the young to have an oriented choice in their profession. Therefore, they will have good opportunities to progress rapidly in their career.

However, if people look at the other side, working or traveling contains some weaknesses. Above all, the point which is generally acknowledged is that young people who use their gap year will be late to start to work in their field. As a result, they may success or be promoted later compared with others. Furthermore, there are a lot of difficulties and risks that the young may have to suffer from their job as well as their trip, because they are so young and not mature enough yet.

In conclusion, everything has two sides and this issue is not an exception. Working or traveling right after finishing high school brings not only strong points but also unexpected drawbacks.