In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?!

Some youngsters encourage to travel and work in the last year of their high school and before entering university. I absolutely do not support this action. While, I need to understand why some teenagers choose that way. In some places, many high school students have no enough money to finish their school-year. To solve this problem, in the spare time and holiday, they work very hard to earn money, so they can pay fee for the last semester.

In a small town of developing country, usually, school boys cannot access information relates to majors in university. They are getting confuse in deciding their future. Sometime, they prefer to work in the edge of year as uniformed student as pre-employer. Therefore, They can learn few things about working. This step hopefully gives them view about the job they want in the future by choosing a match major.

Somehow, working at those time can disturb their time study. Moreover, they need to prepare final examination to graduate from school. Their preparation for determining major will be useless if they cannot pass the examination. In this case, a student must focus on how to pass the examination. This is because passing final examination and accepted in university are two different steps.

However, for outstanding student who can do both-study hard and working, equally, they are exception. But, if I can recommend an advice, it is better to stay study and do some consultations with teachers to choose major, than earning experience as employer. To be noted, this condition is only for students who have no economicall crisis. Meanwhile, government should help student crisis problem, then they can focus to study.