In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

No one can achieve something without any effort. For that, children are sometimes told to try hard enough, so that they can achieve anything they want. Though this message has many advantages such as making children more industrious, patience, skillful etc., it has also some disadvantages like influencing to become stubborn, less conscious about perspective. However, with proper guidance this message will work effectively on children to be persistent.

To begin, the main advantage of the message, everything can be achievable if they try hard enough is helping them to become industrious. This message will motivate them when they will fail in any attempt. This will also help the children to keep their patience in any situation. For example, when a child wants to learn cycling, it is impossible to learn in first attempt. If the child remembers this message, he or she will try again and again to achieve the goal.

In contrast, the main disadvantage of the message is that it often influences the children negatively and creates a possibility of becoming stubborn. For instance, a child who isn't enough to ride a cycle, he or she will force their parents to give him or her a cycle. The child will not concede with the parents if they disagree. Children will also lose the ability of consideration; they always try to gain what they want. They will not see the cons of their demand.

To conclude, trying hard is the precondition of achieving something. While telling children to persist enough for gaining anything has some disadvantages, it will help the children to become diligent and industrious. With proper guidance and observation, this message will work properly on children attitude.