In some cultures children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message

In several cultures, children are often told that they can achieve any goal as long as they make great efforts. In my opinion, giving children this message could have both merits and demerits.

On the one hand, this could be advantageous. To begin with, telling children that “Hard work paid off” could boost their motivation. In terms of explanation, children would be more resolute in pursuing their dreams as they suppose that diligence guarantees success. Take Cristiano Ronaldo, the world’s best soccer player as an example. Without persistence and intensive training, the undernourished boy whose origin was from a humble family could hardly become today’s greatest footballer. Therefore, thanks to the given message, children would be motivated to strive hard for their goals. Another benefit of giving children the message that diligence creates success is raising youngsters’ positivism. To be more specific, since believing that they will gain achievements provides that they are industrious, children might be more determined in chasing their dreams. Moreover, they are prompted to look on the bright side more frequently, especially when encountering hardships. Thus, within this message, children could build a positive attitude as well as self-confidence.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that giving children the idea that constantly making efforts creates achievements might also have significant drawbacks. Firstly, it could place great pressure on children. To illustrate, due to the belief that: “Hard work is the mother of success”, a child might unconsciously push itself hard to achieve its target. Meanwhile, there is a wide range of other factors that contribute to great achievements besides industriousness, such as luck and self-reflection. Consequently, children might suffer from unwanted frustration and serious self-doubts for ascribing their failures to insufficient efforts. Secondly, this message could make the young set unrealistic goals. To clarify, since having unmindfully absorbed the message that diligence forms success, children might firmly assume that any target is attainable if they work hard. In the long run, this could lead to youngsters’ pointless efforts accomplishing unrealistic goals.

In conclusion, inspirational as it might sound, telling children that striving hard for their goals will certainly bring success could be both advantageous and disadvantageous. On the positive side, it could reinforce children’s motivation and self-confidence. However, children might suffer from anxiety and pursue unrealistic targets as a consequence of this message.