In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some cultures believe that hardworking can help people achieve everything. This sentiment can be a blessing and a curse for children raised under such cultures.

On the one hand, children may dedicate themselves to pursuing their goals and eventually building confidence in themselves. People who live under a culture promoting the spirit of hardworking are more likely to strive for their purposes. Instead of complaining about the outside circumstances, they focus on internal motivation. Moreover, with the belief that hardworking may eventually lead to some fruits, the possibility for people to insist on their long-term goal is relatively high. Take outstanding athletes, for example. They can hardly go through the strict and tiring practice without strong willpower for years.

On the other hand, there are inevitable shortcomings for such cultural beliefs. Firstly, suppose children blindly believe in such a theory. In that case, they may continue to work on something they are not even good at, which would waste time and talent at the end of the day. They may blame themselves for the failures, regardless of other coincident factors. This could significantly harm their self-image, which may be the origin of mental health issues. This can-do culture is common in East Asian countries, where psychological problems are common among young adults.

In conclusion, the cultural belief in hardworking can encourage children to devote themselves to achieving their goals. However, people should never overlook the related potential problems on children's development and mental health.