In some cultures children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message

Young people are frequently informed that there is no limit to what they can become if hard work is put into practice,a belief of certain cultures. The purpose of this essay is to state the merit such as boosting children self esteem and also having positive view about life,as well as the demerits which can leads to mental break down and feeling of social isolation among children.

On the one hand,one of the benefits of letting youngsters to think that they can become anything in life only if they are not relent on hard work is that ,it boost their self esteem. As children are often encouraged to put in much effort in whatever they do ,this allows them to believe in themselves. Also,make them trust their ability not to be lasy. Because,they will not be bothered about the negative side of what they are doing even though it going to be stressful for them. For instance,a student who is not real good in mathematics will keep the candle burning all night to ensure that he passes his examination by depriving himself of sleep at night. Thus,the determination he has made benefitted him at the long run.

On the. Other hand,the negative effect of letting children to think that they can become anything if they real put much effort is that it can leads to mental break down for them. As these children are still very young, stressing them mentally can expose and cause a lot of damages to them. Such as feeling of been a failure,if their target is not met. Moreso,they are prone to social isolation. Since most of their set have the same drive of becoming great in life. In a condition where they can not met up with their peer groups,they tend to stay alone, keep to themselves and refused to interact with members of the society.furthermore,they maybe led by peer influence to go into crime or even to the use of substance of abuse to maintain their status in the society. such is seen ,when a child tends to use cocaine or marijuana to remain active while studying. All these are the negative consequences of letting children to believe that there is no limit to their success.

In conclusion,as it have it's positive impact of telling children that they can become anything in life by some cultures,as it will increase their self image and their level of confidence,it also have negative effect because it predisposes them to psychological trauma and loneliness.