In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Hard work and the spirit of not giving up have been the core basis of success since ancient times. No wonder many young ones in some cultures are encouraged to put forward conscious effort to whatever they want as this will eventually lead to good outcomes. This practice has numerous benefits but not without drawbacks. This essay will discuss these in detail.

To start with, there are many positives derived from telling children to work consistently hard. Firstly, it serves a form of motivation to them . Young ones learn most things from what they hear and emphasising that hard work pays in the end help them to keep a positive mindset and focus on realising their goals. Furthermore, they are more likely to be disciplined if they know on time that dedication to their duties will pay off. Being aware of this will help in avoiding any forms of distractions. For instance, many primary school pupils in the UK now have positive mindsets toward their careers after a nation-wide campaigns laid emphasis on importance of persistent hardwork

Despite the many benefits of letting youngstars know the advantages of trying hard to achieve their aims, there are many negative sides to it. It puts pressure on children and force them to abandon leisures. When children are told to never give up but to keep trying, it exerts so much stress on them as they want to succeed by all means . As a result, many end up depressed and go on to have mental health problems. In addition, focusing so much on just hard work creates less time for play. Consequently, a lot of them end up being obese as they hardly ever have time to exercise. To illustrate this, a good percentage of American teens are overweight and this has been attributed to the fact that many are workaholics.

In conclusion, many geographic groups all over the world make it known to children that by trying hard , they can achieve great success. This serves as a form of motivation and helps them to be focused and disciplined. However, it put so much emotional and physical stress on this set of individuals.