In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In same societies, children are advised saying that they can achieve anything if they workhard. There is a common saying "Every coin has two sides" so, definitely there will be advantages and disadvantages. Let us discuss the pros and cons of this statement briefly.

Firstly, I would discuss the advantages of the above notion. Personally what I feel is that the children should be encouraged by their parents or teachers so that they can boost themselves and learn to rectify their mistakes. If you castigate them, the children might get disappointed and will definitely get discouraged. So, we need to make children understand that they can achieve anything in this world by doing hard work.Unless a person tries to work hard to achieve the target, it will become an arduous task for him to succeed. The positivity in children can be build up with the help of parents and teachers.As they are the ones who can make him believe in himself that he has the potential to work hard. For instance, let us consider a scenario where a student has scored less marks in a subject. Now, he has worked hard but has the fear to re-write the exam thinking that he might score less marks again. Here if his parents or teachers cheers him up, he can overcome his fear and can attempt the exam in a successful way.

In contrast to, let us talk about the disadvantages about the notion. In my ideology, the children should not be pressurized with regard to studies.Though, there might be children who can cope up things in a faster manner, but there are few who are quite slow. For this kind of children we should never pressurize them. Let them take their own time to workhard.In addition to it, there are also few children who take things seriously. They workhard in a such a way that they do not take care of their health. This leads to plethora of health issues in children.

We all know that "Health is Wealth", if health does not support us then it will become an onerous for us to achieve the target.

Finally, I would say that never force the children to do the task. Let them do on their own.