In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is true that in some countries, there is a convention of adults promoting the idea that kids can realise their dreams by trying hard enough. While insisting that message exerts several merits and demerits on children.

On the one hand, we should admit that there are noticeale benefits when pupils believe in that saying. To begin with, if kids become mature under that kind of encouragement, they will gain more confidence when they grow up, which leaves a solid foundation for their future adult life. Since in the workplace, individuals are expected to face more difficulties, while those who are more confident show less doubt on themselves, leading to higher effiency and productivity. What is more is that, students who are told to try their best might have better academic performance that their counterparts, which means better career prospects as well.

On the other hand, we should not neglect the negative impacts assosiated with this saying. Firstly, teenagers show a tendency of being desperate when they find that they fail to achieve the goal even though they have tried their best. Unlike adults, teenagers donnot knows well about themselves as elder people do, which means they might not bear the failure, especially when people around him/her put too much expectation on them, insisting that they can realise it. Secondly, by pushing kids to work harder to meet elder the target, they will live under the negative peer pressure which they cannot manage to afford it. Last but not least, when children fail, the only reason pops into their mind would be they have not put enough effort, instead of making critical thinking of other possible causes.

In conclusion, each coin has its two sides, the benifits and drawbacks coexist when considering about this issue.