In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message

In many countries, adults often instill a message for children that everything can be acquired as long as people put enough effort on it. This saying contains both pros and cons, however, personally, I believe that the benefits of this statement are much greater than the negativities

On the one hand, telling kids to have the determination for everything is significantly motivated, reinforcing many decent characteristics of them. In detail, children usually tend to change their interests rapidly, for example, a kid may be once really into piano, he can soon give up on it since he finds it so difficult to play. Thus, an advice as being patient enough can help you reach every goal is immensely beneficial for them. In addition, this can be the core element to build up a good characteristic and perspective that they should always stick to their guns or never feel afraid of a particular challenge that they have to cope with in the future. As a result, delivering the mentioned message to pupils can not only help them not to give up early but also create good manners which are really essential when they grow up

On the other hand, there are also a few drawbacks related to this statement, involving in a misconception that they can do everything they want, even if they are either impratical or inappropriate. In fact, there is a certain extent of things that people can not obtain, such as fictional products or governmental properties, which children may not know it is impossible to possess but keep insisting to have. Therefore, this saying can happen to create a greater ambition among kids towards things that are not realistic or possibly belonged to them. For instance, although a mother have refused for so many times that her child can not buy this dollhouse, instead of understanding, that kid still keeps persuading her mother to buy it since she was taught that if she tries hard enough, everything can be possible, which obviously spoils her

To conclude, it is really meaningful to show children the importance of doing everything with their best. Although it may carry some shortcomings to the kids, I strongly believe that people should highly value and focus on its advantages more since it helps the children to be more determined with everything and have the motivations to follow their dreams