Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people argued that beyond mother language, learning the second language, which would be applicated from primary school instead of until secondary school, is absolutely necessary for students. Although some considerable drawbacks, this issue brings obvious benefits for not only students but also society.

There are two main demerits which need to be considered before carrying on this educational policy. Firstly, primary students lack consciousness about the importance of their mother tongue when they study parallely two languages. For instance, in Vietnam, many children studying in international schools tend to use the second language more than their mother tongue even though they are not at school. Secondly, learning two languages at the same time might be a burden for children. Sometimes, they probably encounter troubles to distinguish how to spell letters in different languages such as "e" in Vietnamese and in English. These learning pressure can make them bored and lose inspiration for discovering other languages in the future.

On the other hand, acquiring early foreign languages also benefits children. Students who are accustomed to other languages at primary level could be more intelligent. This is because more early students learn languages, the more effectively their brains develop. Besides, students also have more opportunities to approach many documents or online courses if they learn well English. In addition, learning foreign languages at primary school can support students to more easily receive the scholarship for studying abroad.

In conclusion, early learning the second language could cause some pressure for students. However, it is also one of the main tools which support and motivate children to develop their capacity.