Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Discuss some advantages and disadvantages.

Language plays an indispensable role in the growth of an individual by improving his/her cognitive skills. Further, learning a foreign language helps people in myriad ways, as it allows people to make connection faster, deeper and learn things faster. However, some opine that introduction of foreign language at primary school is beneficial for children, while others contradict it. Therefore, I am going to discuss the advantages and disadvantages of such development.

To begin with, language associates with many aspects whether it is culture, value, tradition or many more, thus learning a foreign language can show manifold advantages for children. Firstly, foreign language at primary school can make children more sharp, and it can also act as a new exposure for them in making their bright future, as a result they can learn about new skills, besides traditional subjects. Secondly, knowledge about more than one language will make them more capable and competent in order to survive easily as well as to travel across the world. Thirdly, new language will allow them to promote harmony and better understanding with global community which in turn will result better outcome in their life. For instance, it has been found in many surveys that multilingual people are more smarter than others.

However, every aspect is accompanied with certain disadvantages, which is similar in this case. Firstly, at primary school, children are of tender age therefore they are not that much capable enough to handle the burden of more subjects in the form of new language. Secondly, sometimes, foreign language can alter the mindset of children because every language comes with certain values, norms and cultures, thus it can have an impact on children. Thirdly, at primary school, children need knowledge of basic fundamentals, which result in consolidating their fulcrum, rather than any new thing.

At length, it is an unequivocal that learning new language is helpful for children, but it should be done at proper time and age. As someone says, “language represents culture”.