Some experts believe that is it better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed by some professionals that children should start studying a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. This policy has both positive and negative outcomes.

On the one hand, it is easier for young children to learn a new language than teenagers. At the early age, their brains are programmed to adopt new things while this may be more difficult for secondary school students when these students have thinking-paths in their minds. Moreover, primary students only have to study a few subjects compared to secondary students with a flexible timetable. That allows them to spend more time on language lessons which will help them gain their basic skills for their development in secondary and high schools.

On the other hand, as mentioned above, there are some disadvantages of this policy. Primary school teachers may not have necessary language knowledge, in other words their language ability cannot demand the level of skill required for the programs. Another negative thing to consider is that some children may find no interest in language learning in their primary years but are keen on another subjects. It could be, as a result, a waste of time if we force them to learn what their brains refuse to.

In conclusion, despite some negative sides discussed, the advantages are enough to be considered. I personally believe that early language education still need to be applied to young children as a necessary preparation for them for higher education level. I suggest that foreign language should be taught to children in extra courses in addition to their school study, since it will help them to gain enthusiasts and achieve some skills needed.