Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than in secondary school.

Traditionally, children begin studying a foreign language at secondary school, but nowadays educationalists recommend that it is better for children to start learning a new language while they are at primary school. From my perspective, second language acquisition is easier and more efficient at early ages. In this essay, I will elaborate on the reasons which my view is based on.

Firstly, the earlier you introduce a second language, the easier it will be for children to learn. Recent researches suggests that children between 5 and 9 years old are still learning their mother tongue, so their mind is programmed and ready to pick up a new language. For example my 6-year-old niece who is attending a German kindergarten in Tehran, speaks German as well as Persian, her mother tongue. Younger children are particularly better at learning the pronunciations; therefore it takes less effort to teach them to speak a second language.

Secondly, at primary school children have adequate time to spend on developing second language skills, while at secondary school they are busy with all the new and complicated lessons such as chemistry, physics, etc. The more classes they have, the less time they can devote to practicing foreign language, so it is not a good idea to start teaching a new language at higher-level school. Besides, primary school teachers have the opportunity to use play-centered approaches to encourage children to learn a second language and let them enjoy the games a casual learning environment while practicing language skills.

To sum up, I am of the opinion to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than in secondary school as it is more efficient and gives better educational outcomes.