Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some experts feel that the children should learn a foreign language at the primary stage, not wait till the secondary stage.

I strongly agree with this view and I perceive that the merits of the early foreign language learning outweigh the downsides of this view as this essay will reveal.

Studying the essential subjects like, Math, Science and the mother language in primary schools is more important than studying foreign language, as some people think. Thus students should expand their time well and concentrate on the main subjects not on the foreign language. Furthermore, this foreign language could interfere with the native language, makes the student becomes confused, retards the child development in his/her mother language.

However, I support the concept of early foreign language learning, since the child in the early age, has mental potential to learn many language according to some research that showed that the child could learn till five varied languages within the early age owing to the active mental ability. Therefore, the schools have to exploit this tremendous mental power. Moreover, this will pave the way for the child to learn foreign language at its advanced levels in the secondary stage without exerting a lot of effort, which, in turn, assist the student to develop effectively in this language.

In conclusion, albeit some believe it's better for children to learn foreign language in the secondary phase instead of primary phase. I opine with studying foreign language has several benefits such as, utilizing the mental power of the child as well as preparing the child for studying the advanced modules of the second language, that outweigh the disadvantages.