Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Speaking another language has always been found effective. Many countries have incorporated it in their education system at elementary instead of secondary level which, in my opinion, brings more benefits.

Teaching a foreign language to elementary students might be challenging. Firstly, for children aging between 5 and 10, the task of learning two distinguishing languages at once might be too much of an ask. Typical behaviors of children this age are playfulness and impatience which can cause difficulties in following learning points and teachers' delivering lessons well. The pressure may also be acknowledged by schools and parents. Primary school teachers tend to teach multiple subjects in one class and administrators might be expected to hire people with additional language qualities. Besides, parents seem to find it hard to support the children's learning process if their native language is the only one they understand. Therefore, requiring students to study a different language from their mother’s earlier at school may take more time and effort from many parties.

Nevertheless, I agree that we need to support early second language training. Children might struggle at first but this can be prevented with a well-thought-out curriculum. Parents can always inform homeroom teachers and other school staff about the issues their children experience. Another measure is getting a private tutor to provide customized assistance. More importantly, the five-year extra will make a huge impact on one’s language proficiency. This means that the earlier pupils start learning the new language, the easier and faster for them to master it. Speaking a second language fluently possibly results in higher chances for job opportunities. Once a nation’s younger generations speak well-accepted languages such as English and Chinese, that nation’s workforce is likely to be considerably appreciated by the world. Through songs, movies, and games used in language teaching, young people could develop many positive traits such as cultural sensitivity, creativity, and tolerance. A society occupied with skilled and well-rounded members will thrive unarguably.

In conclusion, while the teaching and learning process might be trickier, I believe this approach's advantages outweigh the disadvantages.