Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Few experts have a belief that it is beneficial for the students to learn foreign language at the primary level of school instead of learning it at secondary stage. I reckon that there are several pros learning it early that dominant over the cons which have been analysed futher in this essay.

On the one hand, learning a foreign language at an early age is advantageous in several ways. Firstly, when a child is adapting a different language, it comes up with a lot of additional information related to it, such as the culture, art and tradition of the locality that the language belongs to. For example, if an individual has to learn a Rajasthani language, then it becomes mandatory for one to learn the additional information regarding the history of the community. As a result, overall development is enhanced within a person that helps improving a credit in the society.

Secondly, the job employment becomes effortless for a person who knows an additional language other than the native one. Because of this, a person gets employed by the language that he knows which is economically beneficial. Therefore, it is better for children to learn a foreign language in primary school rather than in the secondary school.

On the other hand, it is believed that there are some demerits which creates some hindrance if a foreign language is to be learnt at secondary stage instead in the primary. Primarily, it would be difficult for an individual if it is learnt in the secondary stage because there are several other subjects to be studied and it would not be a cup of tea to cope up with different subjects and in addition with that a language that is unknown. For instance, in secondary school there are various subjects such as science, history, mathematics and other which in itself are difficult to grasp and along with that if there has to be adopt a foreign language it would be a challenging. Moreover, the power of learning deteriorates as the individual gets older and due to this it becomes hard to get the language on daily basis. Thus, these are the disadvantages that are faced if the foreign language is to be learnt in secondary school.

To conclude, it can be outlined that learning a foreign language is comparatively more easier for an individual in primary school rather than in the secondary school.