Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a foreign language becomes mandatory in today’s society as the world has been globalized. Now the issue is whether teaching a foreign language from primary school or teaching students from secondary school once they mastered a mother tongue language. From my perspective, this matter has both pros and cons for some reasons as followed.

On the one hand, learning a new language at early age provides students numerous benefits. First of all, young children are very good in learning new subjects. It has been universally proven that young children grasp the subject matters, including learning new languages, really quickly. Therefore, when students are taught the foreign language at early age, they learn it naturally without any difficulties. Another advantage is that young children develop the correct accent of the language. It is true that those who learn a new language at the later age have significant problems with the accent, while those who learn earlier has outstanding accent of the foreign language.

On the other hand, learning a foreign language early has its drawbacks. Firstly, primary school students have had plenty of courses to study and tests to pass, and foreign language classes may put more stress on them. Furthermore, teaching foreign languages requires certain approaches and techniques that can arouse and maintain students' interest and make classes more productive, as well as teachers who are good at them.

To summarize, the advantages of learning a foreign language at an early age outweigh the disadvantages. Therefore, educationalists and the authority should search for methods to minimize the limitations.