Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language in primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, several professionals assume that children should start learning a foreign language in primary school. While there are some advantages of this trend, I would argue that the disadvantages are more significant.

On the one hand, children who begin learning a foreign language in primary school will get several benefits. Firstly, since children with little age are not shy, they will actively practice their language skills more frequently. As a result, their studying ability in a foreign language is better than teenagers. Secondly, because primary school timetable is not fixed as in secondary school, children can learn at any time they want. If they start learning a foreign language in secondary school, the fixed timetable only allows them to learn the language at predefined time per week.

However, learning a foreign language in primary school definitely brings several obvious disadvantages. First and foremost, a foreign language is not a great concern of educational training for primary teachers. This might negatively affect children in learning language. For instance, as primary teachers were not fully trained in the foreign language, they could make mistakes in spelling and pronunciation and allow children to follow. In addition, because other subjects are more important in that age such as math and mother language than a foreign language, spending a great amount of time in learning it could reduce necessary time for those subjects.

In summary, I believe that the disadvantages of learning a foreign language in primary school outweigh its advantages, and this is a negative trend.