Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people, myself included, agree with the point of view of some experts that primary school is the optimal place to start foreign language education, rather than secondary school. This essay aims at demonstrating the main reasons why I support this opinion.

It is common knowledge that starting foreign language learning at primary school has some disadvantages. One of them is that children may not have a good grasp in their own mother tongue. When exposed to foreign languages to early, some children may forgo learning their native tongue until they are fluent, opting to use their second language as their primary one instead. This barrier can cause a multitude of inconveniences in the family, especially if there are members of that family who are incapable of understanding the language.

However, there are many more reasons supporting the view that children should commence foreign language acquisition at primary school. First of all, younger children feel much less pressure when it comes to language learning. They think of it as a game, or a fun activity, rather than just another subject in school. However, secondary school students are much more likely to consider second languages just another subject in their curriculum. Thus, they have much less enthusiasm to learn them. Another reason is that primary school students can feel as comfortable speaking their second language as their own native tongue when they reach a high level in the language. Whereas grownups tend to be more mindful of the subtleties of a language, younger children tend to be more carefree and relaxed when speaking it. Therefore, they gain a better sense of comfort and get a better hold of it quicker.

In brief, even though exposing children to another language during their primary years rather than their secondary ones does have some drawbacks, it is the advantages that prevail.