Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Improving education quality encourages young people to learn foreign language earlier. It becomes debatable about when the proper time to stipulate foreign language into the formal education. However, it raised the question about whether studying foreign language should start from primary school instead of secondary school. From my perspective, although studying foreign language in early age might load heavily for children and lose their kiddy’s time, there are some logical reasons why primary school is the appropriate time for studying foreign language.

There is a concern about studying foreign language earlier could burden pupils. In this globalization era, students have a lot of subject with myriad of recitation and complex material. Indonesian students; for example, have been studying natural and social sciences since third-year of primary school. If foreign language are implemented sooner, pupils will get underpressure and might effect their mentality. In addition, children might lose their childhood which is unrepeatable moment. Adding new subject such as secondary language means more homework and materials to be studied. Consequently, childen have no time again to play and interact with their friends.

By contrast, scientific reasons are also there. Research carried out by brain institute in Toronto shows that children who are in 4-9 year old are easier to memorize than other age groups. Children tend to copy people speakers; therefore, it will be easily when we guide them to remember new vocabularies and pronounciations on this time. This research makes clear that primary school is likely to be a prudent idea to start learning foreign language. Furthermore, mostly children are talkative in this period. One reason for this is that they are less shyness and more self confident to talk to other people. If they get new words, they might do practice a lot in daily conversation without any doubt. Thus, their foreign language ability improve significantly and they become more fluently.

All thinking considered, its is true that studying foreign language from primary school has some negative impacts; nonetheless, I am convinced that the benefits of studying foreign language are greater than the drawbacks for children’s future.