Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In our modern society, the question whether children should start learning a foreign language at primary school has been widely debated. Many consider studying a foreign language at primary school better than at high school , while others hold the opposite point of view. I honestly believe there are more benefits rather than drawbacks for a pupil to start learning his first foreign language at primary school.

On one hand, studies concluded that young children pick up languages more easily than teenagers,therefore resulting in a faster and more efficient learning. This is primarily due their enhanced cognitive abilities, memorizing skill and also their curious behaviour regarding every little detail. Moreover , the increasing demand upon knowing not only one international-use foreign language, justifies the purpose of learning it earlier because the sooner the better. In addition , at early ages , the timetables aren't embroidered and therefore teachers can come with innovative and interactive methods of teaching , making the lessons more pleasant and fruitful.

However, there is another side of a coin as always.To begin with,it is widely known kids tend to set their minds only to video games , electronic gadgets, while they are still at primary school. The attempt of teaching a foreign language may fail because they would most likely be confused and not bothered to compel it. In addition , it could be a less efficiently directive since children need to focus on other subjects such as math, natural science, and their own mother tongue language, which they might need it more than the foreign one.

Looking at the points discussed above, we can come to a conclusion that advantages of learning a foreign language at an early age outweigh the disadvantages. I believe a person equipped with more languages is definitely needed in our society to make our world more prosperous and flourished in the decades to come.