Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Living in a globalizing world, people are required to command several languages. Sometimes it’s argued whether they should start studying a foreign language since childhood. In my opinion, it’s of more advantage to begin it at primary schools.

People suggest learning languages at secondary schools for many reasons.Children are expected to concentrate on the main subjects such as maths, science and reading. If they had to involve another language in their daily studies, less time and effort would be invested into the core subjects. To put it in a more practical way, children have little chance to use another language in many situation as they are still young, therefore it seems not so necessary to begin at an early age.

However, I still believe that we can achieve much more studying it earlier. Apparently, a mass of research have already shown that the earlier a person begins to exposed to a language, the easier he or she can have a good command of it. For example, the kids born in a transnational family are mostly bilingual. They speak their languages better and more easily than those who learn it later. Besides, language study can be designed into games and activities on campus where pupils can absorb the usage without taking much extra time. Finally, students at secondary schools are more likely to focus on their major, skills training and club activities, so probably they are not able to put sufficient effort in the language and acquire it in the end.

In conclusion, it is true that learning a foreign language may affect the main subject study of students while considering the long term advantage, I believe proper curriculum design could help so I would rather advise people to begin it as early as possible where they can pick it up much better.