Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

What these days people are struggling with is that children should better start learning a new language at the first stages of schools or at the upper level. However, both of them have their merits and drawbacks, this essay will discuss this argument.

Whether most of mentors and parents contend that the primary schools are the best time of learning a foreign language is a controversial statement. Their idea has some benefits which they rely on them. They suggest that children are capable to mastered in a new language. Firstly, regarding the intellectual ability of kids, they show better react to learning. The critical period is indicated by less than 9-year-old age group. Secondly, from their point of view, this age group is much more enthusiastic than pupils who are studying at the secondary or high schools and the level of eagerness has a difference dramatically. Finally, based on academic evidence, they believe that children can be taught five foreign languages at the same time with a well worthy consequence.

Nevertheless, some critics have a different attitude in comparison with the mentioned experts. They indicate to some language barriers at the primary schools. They give some reasons as disadvantages of learning a foreign language in the childhood. Firstly, “the more efficient results in training, the more experience in studying”, they said. Secondly, they asked: how to tackle difficulties and address their linguistic blocks when children do not have any educational background in this field. They believe that learning a new subject needs cutting-edge equipment and materials and it is crucial and vital that students be the secondary or above level of studying to meet their linguistic needs.

In conclusion, both begin a new and foreign language at the primary and secondary schools have their advantages and downsides, but we cannot ignore the role of modern facilities in learning a new language.