Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Raising kids is always a familiar and argumentative topic as it determines what future generations will become. While some said that empowering children to make their choice of everyday needs is crucial to their development, others contend that this will rather bring about negative consequences to society as the next population is likely to be selfish. From my perspective, I agree with the latter opinion.

Admittedly, giving children the freedom to decide things in their daily lives is believed to be important as it hones their necessary skills such as decision-making. This is because when some concerns appeared, they have to analyze the situation and think critically and carefully themselves in order to find out what is the best solution least undesired impacts. Moreover, people believe that unless they have these experiences, they will be independent and rely on their parents even when getting older. However, in my opinion, these lines of reasoning are not sound as children are not mature enough to consider a matter wisely but follow more their temporary feelings, which may result in some bad habits or even detrimental actions

Besides, providing children the privileges to choose between options in ordinary matters will make them become self-centered individuals. Given their childish behavior, they are likely to prefer the best one or the one they like most when being allowed to make decisions. So when parents comply with their wishes every time and for a long time, it makes children think that having their favorite options is apparent and undoubted in all situations, which may form in them conceited attitude. Furthermore, this tends to last until these children have grown, and it is likely to say that when there are communal issues, they will care about others’ preferences when making a decision, just concentrate on the things that benefit them most.

In conclusion, I believe that children should not be given such liberty when they are still young, due to the adverse effect regarding their immaturity, which can lead to egocentric behavior.