Some people believe that allowing multinational companies to open offices and factories in developing countries is good for their economic growth of those countries. Others, however, believe that governments should ask foreign companies to shut shop and help local companies to grow. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a popular opinion that the economy of the nations that are developing can be improved by permitting international companies to function their offices. On the other hand, others have a contrasting opinion, requesting the government to close these offices and aid their regional companies to develop. This essay would discuss few points which agree and few points which disagree to this statement.

To begin with, multinational companies play a key role in the survival of the developing country’s economy. For example, according to research, the shampoo company l’oreal, has increased India’s economy by 30% in the recent years. Along with that, it has also increased the employment capacity of many Indians. This is a huge benefit for a developing country like India.

On the flip side, there are few people who believe that the introduction of these companies would take over their small companies, resulting in people losing their jobs. For example, India is known for their authentic kolapuri slippers which are made by rural people. This crowd does not have any knowledge about other professions. The introduction of foreign company slippers will destroy the sale of these regional slippers. Hence, these local people will end up being unemployed and the footwear which represents the Indian culture, will be forgotten. This can be rectified by asking the government to promote the regional products rather than closing the foreign offices.

Having analysed the above statements, it is sufficed to say that both these companies can survive alongside each other if the government takes the proper initiatives to promote the local companies instead of shutting the international offices.